The Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Excellence in Teaching was established in 2019 in the CIS Department by Lutron Electronics, in memory of Ruth and Joel Spira, the company’s cofounders. It recognizes a member of the CIS faculty who has excelled in teaching and advising students. Typically the award, which includes a cash prize, is presented to the recipient during the CIS Senior Dinner.

Past Awardees

2019: Sanjeev Khanna

2020: Susan B. Davidson

2021: Boon Thau Loo

2022: Swapneel Sheth